The Estonian Photographic Art Fair 2014 will take place from 3 to 5 October 2014 at Telliskivi Loomelinnak, Tallinn. Visitors can see and buy new works from 26 leading artists; the display is contextualised by a varied programme of public events.

"Forgotten Value. Estonian Country School." (2014) by Katrina Tang

"Forgotten Value. Estonian Country School." (2014) by Katrina Tang

Already in its 5th year, The Photographic Art Fair is organised by The Union of Photography Artists (Foku) in collaboration with Estonian Contemporary Art Development Center and with the support of Cultural Endowment of Estonia.

“The Estonian fair is unique in its approach – we work directly with artists,” said Helen Melesk, project manager of the fair. “This is partly due to the lack of an established gallery representation system in Estonia. Each year, we collaborate more closely with professional galleries – however, as an artist-led organisation we appreciate the flexibility and curatorial opportunities our current model offers.”

The purpose of the fair is to introduce recent trends in contemporary photography to the local public and international art professionals, to offer advice on the strategies of collecting contemporary art and to initiate discussions on the role of photography in art and visual culture. The fair will be open on Friday and Saturday, 3 and 4 October from 11am to 8pm, and on Sunday, 5 October from 11am to 6pm. Also on view is a display of artist books focusing on contemporary photography from Finland.

Highlights of the public programme include guided tours and artist talks as well as practical workshops. English speaking visitors are welcome to participate in the public lectures by visiting speakers Anna-Kaisa Rastenberger, chief curator of The Finnish Museum of Photography, and Ida Pimenoff, chair of the board of the Finnish Union of Artist Photographers, taking place on Saturday afternoon.

Participating artists are Alan Proosa, Anu Vahtra, Andres Lõo, Arne Maasik, Dénes Farkas, Diana Tamane, Eilve Manglus, Herkki Erich Merila, Jaanus Samma, Johannes Säre, Kalev Vapper, Karel Koplimets, Katrin Sarapuu, Katrina Tang, Kristiina Hansen, Maido Juss, Mall Nukke, Marge Monko, Maria Kapajeva, Na Kim, Ott Kadarik, Paco Ulman, Sigrid Viir, Triin Rebane, Tõnu Tunnel and Vahur Puik.

Visit the webpage of Fotokuu here.
Event on Facebook.